How to replace a battery on a Skagen 233LGS men’s watch

I bought a Skagen Men’s Two-Tone Stainless Steel Mesh Watch 233LGS off eBay at a great price. I thought it was too good to be true and it was. The battery was dead.

I searched Google and apparently the thin Skagen watches are notoriously difficult to change the battery. I found lots of websites where certain individuals have attempted to replace the battery and either scratched the back, broken the glass or both. Watch shops won’t even replace them due to the difficulty doing so.

photo 3

Well, I love a challenge so I had a go myself. I found an old screw driver (used to adjust glasses), a piece of plastic from a sandwich and a piece of scotch tape. I had a go removing the back case. The screw driver wouldn’t even fit in the tiny slot. I searched eBay for a tool but in the end decided to improvise. I started to grind the end of the screw driver on an old key lying around to make the edge thinner and smoother.

photo 2

I pushed the screw driver in carefully and pushed down on the other end carefully, cautiously knowing a slight movement will scratch the case. It took more force than normal but the case back popped open. I used some scotch tape to protect the case back.

photo 1

 

The watch required a battery Sony SR616SW (321) which cost £1.29 (eBay). As you can see from the image, the movement is of the Miyota 1L22 (Citizen) variety.

The battery is held in place by a small prong, a simple push on this with the screw driver and the battery pops out.

I fitted the new battery and tried to pop back the case back. A case press is required but again, improvise in a controlled way should work.

I used some scotch tape to hold the case back level and also the tape protects against scratches. I squeezed the case back evenly on both sides while also holding the metal on the front. It took quite a lot of force but the case back snapped into place. I would certainly avoid pushing against the glass as this will most likely break.

photo 4

A quick polish with the cloth, time set and the watch is now ready for action again!

Hopefully this will help someone and save you some money in the process.

Let me know via the comments how you get on.

Note: I will not be held responsible for any damaged watches due to following my instructions. Do so at your own risk.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

